It is a BRAND NEW DAY in the Department of Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology at Penn State University

September 7, 2015  From the Bull Penn

I want to personally thank you all for your work in building a community of wonderful colleagues and a preeminent department of plant pathology. I feel honored and privileged to be inheriting a department with such a long and distinguished history.  I look forward to helping ensure that the department remains a leader in the field of Plant Pathology and grow the department into its new roll in Environmental Microbiology. Despite the financial stress of the past few years the department has maintained its status and is on the verge of real and substantial growth in many areas. It is a BRAND NEW DAY in PPEM and you will be hearing me say that a great deal as we move forward with renewed positive energy.

One of the things I truly appreciate about this department is that the folks in the PPEM are supportive of each other. This week I have seen examples of people being curious rather than criticizing, aiding rather than judging, and mentoring rather than mocking. These examples reinforce my belief that I am in the right place. I hope you will soon trust me as a team member and will also treat me to your curiosity, aid, and mentorship.

I hope you all had a wonderful Labor Day weekend. Have a great week.

Carolee

Leave a Reply

