Scouting the Penn State University Arboretum

Some folks take pictures of the bananas and some of the sunflowers, and then there are the phytopathologists. I took pictures of both of those, but this was my favorite.

A lovely day at the Penn State University Arboretum was topped off with a little plant disease!

A lovely day at the Penn State University Arboretum was topped off with a little plant disease!

I came home and looked up some information on current management practices and found a video of my buddy, Dr. Nicole Ward. As a graduate student Nicole came to visit Salinas to work with another scientist. She emailed me to ask about a good hotel in a safe part of town. I recommended Chez Fillettaz Bull. She lived with us for a couple of weeks. We fell in love with her accent, so I recognized her voice on this video long before I saw her or her by-line. Any guesses where she is from?

For those of you who haven’t had a plant pathology course, you can see this pathogen on both apples and cedar. Here is the life cycle of the organism causing the disease. Penn State Extension has a great management guide for this disease and clearly written description of the life history.

Someone get me a razor blade, a glass slide, and a microscope! Time to look at these spores up close and personal.

Leave a Reply

